All motorized vehicles that will be used on public roads, including forest service roads and beaches, in Washington State must be licensed. If you purchase your vehicle from a Washington State dealer, the dealer will transfer the title for you.
If you purchase a vehicle from a private party, you will need to transfer the title yourself.
You will need:
1. A title, dated and signed by all registered and legal owners; or a notarized Affidavit of Loss.
2. Bill of sale which must include the year, make, model, VIN number, date of sale, purchase price and signature of seller.
3. An odometer statement on vehicles less than 10 years old.
4. A current Washington State Driver's License.* The registered owner must be 18 years of age or older. (*Exceptions may apply)
5. Cash, check or money order.
6. Credit/Debit Card (fee applies).
Please note: Washington State titled vehicles must be transferred within 15 calendar days after purchase day to avoid monetary penalties. A $50 penalty is charged on the 16th day with an additional $2.00 charge per day thereafter until a maximum $125 penalty is reached.